Socks, a Cat, and Nerding Out

Hey, everyone!  How’s your March been?  I got back this past Friday from Washington D.C., where I was visiting family and touring with my roommate.  I’ve been to D.C. a ton of times, but this was the first time as an “adult” (does 21 count as adult?).  We decided to cram in as much as absolutely possible, so in four and a half days we went to the National Zoo, the National Portrait Gallery, the International Spy Museum, the Newseum, the National Museum of the American Indian, the United States Botanical Garden, the National Museum of Natural History, the National Museum of American History, and the National Air and Space Museum.

Yeah, we were busy.

We basically spent the entire time being huge dorks, especially at the Natural History and Air and Space museums.  We’re both STEM majors, so that was pretty cool.  I’ve been to all of these museums before, but it’d been a few years, and my roommate hadn’t been at all.

My roommate and I also found time to go to Georgetown and see one of my best friends from high school!  I don’t get to see her nearly enough, so that was fantastic.  The next day we went to Dupont Circle for dinner and passed by a yarn store, Looped Yarnworks, so of course we had to go in (we’re both knitters)!  I got two balls of Schoppel Wolle Ambiente yarn in 1862.

I was also home for the weekends surrounding the week and I got to see my kitty!  I miss her so much when I’m at school.  I was home to help my mom pack up the house.  Unfortunately, we’re selling our house.  We had hoped to sell my stepdad’s house and have him move in here since we’re attached to the community in our town and he’s not in his, but it’s just not possible.  So, we’ll sell our house, move in with him, and then hopefully sell his place in a year or two and get a house back in my hometown.

IMG_7240

I cast on these plain socks last Friday on the bus home using the Ambiente.  It’s been a while since I’ve done two-at-a-time!

IMG_7742

I’m considering these to be my April socks, although I might have them done before my March socks, of which I finished the first but haven’t cast on the second.

IMG_7716

If you’re new to my blog, my 2017 New Year’s resolution is to knit one pair of socks each month of the year.  It’s going pretty well so far!

In non-sock news, I’ve finished most of my midterms and am anxiously awaiting grades.  I have already gotten one grade back in a difficult class, and I did really well!  I got a 95%, and the professor said usually the high grade for this exam is a 75%.  I’m still nervous about the other tests, though.

Oh, and I finally got my learner’s permit to drive!  My roommate says she’ll help me learn.  I know 21 is late to get my permit, but better late than never!  My goal is to have my license before I graduate in a year, but we’ll see.

I hope you all have a great weekend!  Do you have any exciting plans?

Author: Katherine

Knitter, geology student, fashion enthusiast

Leave a Reply

