A Cozy Hat and Some Tea

I’m really ready for a break, you guys.  This has probably been the most exhausting semester of my life, and we’re only about a third of the way through.  At least I’m enjoying most of my classes!

I’ve still been able to make some time for knitting, thankfully.  I got some KnitPicks Wonderfluff in the mail on Monday and quickly whipped up this hat.

IMG_7196

I really, really like this yarn, although I will say that although it’s marketed as bulky, I’d call it a heavy worsted/Aran.  It’s a thin nylon mesh tube with alpaca and merino fibers blown into it, and as a consequence, it’s incredibly lightweight.  The ball of yarn feels about half as heavy as I’d expect, based on its size!  Plus, air gets trapped inside the yarn and makes it very, very warm for its weight.  I hope they expand the color range, because I’m not a fan of some of the colors but I love the yarn.  I bought another ball in a kind of orchid pink color and I’m going to make another one of these hats for sure!

Other than the hat, I haven’t made a lot of progress on my March Operation Sock Drawer socks (or on my Blizzard shawl, for that matter).  In fact, I’m less than two inches into the leg on the first sock!  I doubt I’ll finish them by the end of the month, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it.  I’m taking 18 upper-division credits and I barely have time to breathe.

In terms of my Laurel cardigan, I’ve just lost motivation.  I cast on so long ago, but since I barely work on it, I’ve made so little progress that the finish line feels miles away.  It’s so hard to get myself to even pick it up anymore.  Besides, it’s so large that I can’t really bring it anywhere to work on a row here and there like I do my smaller projects.  I finished the right top body in 10 days, but it’s taken me since October 20th to just do the left sleeve!

Do any of you have any tips for motivating yourself to just get a project done?  I really want to finish this one, since I think it’s a really cute pattern and it’s taking up so much space.

In other news, I’ve been trying to drink more tea.  I’ve always been a big tea drinker but it’s easy to get too busy for a cup most days.  The last week or so, I’ve set my alarm 15 minutes earlier to make myself some Earl Grey and I feel much calmer and more awake most mornings.  What’s your favorite kind of tea?

 

Leave a Reply

